Books @ GSU Law
- GIL-FINDGIL-FIND is the online catalog for Georgia State University
- Human Subjects Research
- Human Subjects Ethics
- Human Subjects Law
- Human Subjects
- Bioethics
University Library Databases
The following are compilations of databases based on a particular subject:
- Public Health
- Nursing
- Counseling and Psychological Services
- JStor
- Discover SearchSearch the University Library's books, journals, and more.
GSU Law Databases
- WestlawLaw Students Only. Be sure to switch to the OnePass sign in screen. Your log in requires a client name--anything will do.
- LexisNexisLaw Students Only. Users will need to log in using their LexisNexis Username and Password.
- ProQuest Congressional
- LegalTrac
Finding Articles
- ETHXWeb Basic SearchJournal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics are included in this database.
Center for Bioethics- University of Minnesota
- Center for Bioethics
- Resources Center PageThe resources page provides links to the Center's Summaries & Overviews (topics included are: human stem cells, organ transplantation, distributing limited health care resources, resuscitation decisions, end of life care, research ethics, and new frontiers in genetic testing and screening); suggested readings and related sites on animal research, end of life care, organ transplants, reproductive technologies, research ethics, and stem cells.
- PublicationsThis page links to the full text of three different publications by the Center: Bioethics Examiner, Ethics Matters (May 1998-2002), and Overviews.
Statutes and Regulations
- 42 USCA 281 et seq.National Research Institutes--you may want to focus on section 289.
- 42 USCA 300vPresident's Commission for the Study of Ethical Problems in Medicine and Biomedical and Behavior Research
- 21 CFR Part 50Protection of Human Subjects
- 21 CFR Part 56Institutional Review Boards
- 45 CFR Part 46Protection of Human Subjects
- 45 CFR Part 160Administrative Data Standards and Related Requirements
- 45 CFR Part 164Security and Privacy
- Regulations.govSearch for proposed regulations and calls for comment.
PubMed
PubMed is an database provided by the NIH, and it indexes life science articles. PubMed provides access to MEDLINE citations.
- PubMed
- PubMed Animated Tutorial
- MeSH DatabaseDatabase of Medical Subject Headings.
- MeSH TutorialUse this tutorial to learn more about subject searching in PubMed.
Agencies
- Agency for Healthcare Research and QualityInformed Consent Regulatory Requirements
- Office for Human Research Protections (DHHS)
- Office for Research Integrity (DHHS)
- National Bioethics Advisory CommissionThe Commission's charge expired in 2001. This site is an archive.
- President's Council on Bioethics
International Materials
International or foreign law may also be relevant to human subjects research.
- International Compilation of Human Research ProtectionsInternational Compilation of Human Research Protections
Compiled by: Office for Human Research Protections
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - International Ethical Guidelines for Biomedical Research Involving Human SubjectsPrepared by the Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences (CIOMS) in collaboration with the World Health Organization (WHO)
- WMA Declaration of Helsinki - Ethical Principles for Medical Research Involving Human Subjects
- Nuremberg Code: Directives for Human Experimentation
- Council of Europe (Oviedo Convention-Protocol on Biomedical Research)
- Nuffield Council on Bioethics
- Bioethics Web (United Kingdom) Offers free access to a searchable catalogue of Internet sites and resources covering biomedical ethics.
- International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) The web site provides general information about the society. It also includes the full text of the monthly "ISSCR Newsletter" (2002- ) which collects worldwide news on stem cell research as well as highlights of recent literature on the topic.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
National Academies Press
Below are just a few of the titles that are available as free eBooks from the National Academies Press website, as well as a link to search the site yourself.
- National Academies PressSearch this site for additional eBooks related to human subjects research, health, and the law.
- Preserving Public Trust: Accreditation and Human Research Participant Protection ProgramsCommittee on Assessing the System for Protecting Human Research Subjects, Board on Health Sciences Policy, Institute of Medicine, Institute of Medicine
- Ethical Considerations for Research on Housing-Related Health Hazards Involving ChildrenBernard Lo and Mary Ellen O'Connell, Editors, Committee on Ethical Issues in Housing-Related Health Hazard Research Involving Children, Youth, and Families, Board on Children, Youth and Families
- Ethical Considerations for Research Involving PrisonersCommittee on Ethical Considerations for Revisions to DHHS Regulations for Protection of Prisoners Involved in Research, Board on Health Sciences Policy
- The Ethical Conduct of Clinical Research Involving ChildrenMarilyn J. Field and Richard E. Berman, Editors, Committee on Clinical Research Involving Children, Board on Health Sciences Policy
Useful Websites
- Search the Studies (NIH)
- Public Responsibility in Medicine and ResearchSee Resource Center for relevant articles.
- Office of Good Clinical Practice (FDA)
- Citizens for Responsible Care and Research
- Institute of MedicineFollow the Reports link for reputable information. PDF reports are freely available. Keyword searching available.
- Bioethics Resources on the Web (National Institutes of Health) The Web site includes resources that provide background information and various positions on issues in bioethics.
- Genethics.ca TopicsProvides list of agencies/organizations and literature on topics including genetic testing, patenting, DNA banking, gene therapy & engineering, stem cells, etc.
- Bioethics.net Provides links to bioethics news for the week and the American Journal of Bioethics (full-text available only to subscribers).
- BookshelfProvides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
- ClinicalTrials.govA registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
- NLM CatalogProvides access to NLM bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials.


Loading...
