Skip to main content

Life as a Law Student

This guide is focused on providing law students with resources pertaining to life as a law student. The focus is on blogs, websites, legal news, and books.

Research & Study - Apple

ABA Journal is a FREE app for use on the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad.  Provides legal news and articles features in the ABA Journal. The app may be downloaded at the iTunes App Store.

BARBRI Mobile offers a free application called BARBRI Challenge and a separate application available to students registered with BARBRI.  Challenge is a multiple-choice quiz on bar subjects.  The app can be downloaded from the iTunes App Store
Fastcase is a web-based legal research service that provides access to U.S. cases and statutes.  The app is FREE on iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad and may be downloaded at the iTunes App Store.

HeinOnline, is the world’s largest image-based legal research database. The app allows you to view image-based PDF’s, access content by citation, browse by volume, navigate a volume with the electronic table of contents, and use full advanced searching techniques. HeinOnline account/authentication is required.  You can authorize this account on campus by going through the Virtual Private Network (VPN).  Download the iPhone and iPad app from the iTunes App Store.

The Lexis Advance app allows you to use their new natural search algorithm and intuitive mobile interface to access LexisNexis services. Search for a wide range of resources including cases, statutes, analytical materials, and dockets.  You must have a current Lexis® Advance subscription and valid ID/password to utilize this app. Download from the iTunes App Store:  iPhone Version & HD iPad Version.

Access familiar WestlawNext features including, WestSearch, KeyCite, Folders, History, document notes and highlighting, browse database content and more.  Free to download, but students will need to enter their Westlaw username and password to use the app.  Download iPad version from the iTunes App Store.

The iTunes U app gives you access to complete courses from leading universities and other schools — plus the world’s largest digital catalog of free education content — right on your iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch. Whether you’re majoring in molecular biology at a university, taking Spanish in high school, or just interested in European history, you now have a valuable tool to help you learn anytime, anywhere. Download the IPhone and IPad app from the Itunes App store.
Read the daily edition of the Congressional Record on your iPad, iPhone or iPod touch. The Congressional Record App is presented by the Library of Congress using data provided by the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, and the Government Printing Office. Download the IPhone and IPad app from the Itunes App store.
Accessing Wikipedia has never been faster and easier than with Wikipanion, designed for easy, search, navigation and display of Wikipedia entries. Streamline your browsing with history grouped by visit date, and bookmarking that not only bookmarks individual entries, but individual sections within an entry. Download the IPhone and IPad app from the Itunes App store.
Just like our iPhone app, you can create accurate MLA, APA, and Chicago style citations in seconds by scanning a book bar code or by typing the name of a book. Build and manage your works cited list on the larger screen of the iPad. Once done, email your citations and then export your citations to EasyBib.com's popular bibliography management service. Download the IPhone and IPad app from the Itunes App store.
Khan Academy allows you to learn almost anything for free. Our iPad app is the best way to view Khan Academy’s complete library of over 3,200 videos. Spend an afternoon brushing up on statistics. Discover how the Krebs cycle works. Learn about the fundamentals of computer science. Prepare for that upcoming SAT. Or, if you’re feeling particularly adventurous, learn how fire stick farming changed the landscape of Australia. Download the IPhone and IPad app from the Itunes App store.
SSRN is a must have for anyone interested in the social sciences and now, humanities. Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of scholarly research. Imagine having instant access to the world’s best authors and their cutting edge research literally at your fingertips. Download the IPhone and IPad app from the Itunes App store
America's most useful and respected dictionary, designed and enhanced especially for iPad.  In addition to all the definitions from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the app offers voice search – to let you look up a word without having to spell it – along with synonyms and antonyms, example sentences, Word of the Day, Favorites, and more. It's a great tool for reference, education, and vocabulary building. Download the IPhone and IPad app from the Itunes App store.
3D guide to the solar system for aspiring astronomers. Download the IPhone and IPad app from the Itunes App store.
TED's official app presents talks from some of the world's most fascinating people: education radicals, tech geniuses, medical mavericks, business gurus and music legends. Find more than 1,100 TEDTalk videos (with more added each week) on the official TED app -- now for both iPad and iPhone. Download the IPhone and IPad app from the Itunes App store.

Leisure - Apple

Bing makes decisions and gets you where you need to go.  Connect with friends and see their opinions when you search.  Find products with your camera.  Search maps with your voice - even say an address.  Search for anything on the Web including images, weather, and local business listing.  This app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
ESPN ScoreCenter
ESPN ScoreCenter brings you scores from hundreds of sports leagues around the world, including the NFL, MLB, NHL, English Premier League, and NBA.  This app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
The Facebook app makes it easy to stay connected and share information with friends.  Only available on iPhone and iPod Touch.  This app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
Google Mobile App is a great tool that allows you to search Google quickly using voice commands.  The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
The redbox app allows you to browse and reserve a movie, plus find the nearest redbox.  This app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
The Twitter app lets you connect with your Twitter account and discover what's happening right now.  This app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

Android Apps

Congress app allows users to look up their representatives using their location, see how their representatives vote, and provides users with notifications.  The app is FREE to download at AppBrain.
DroidLaw provides users with access to many legal resources, such as the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Evidence, Appellate Procedure, and Criminal Procedure.  State Codes will be available soon.  The app is FREE to download at AppBrain
The Facebook app makes it easy to stay connected and share information with friends.  This app is FREE and may be downloaded from AppBrain.
The Twitter app lets you connect with your Twitter account and discover what's happening right now.  This app is FREE and may be downloaded from AppBrain.
ESPN ScoreCenter
ESPN ScoreCenter brings you scores from hundreds of sports leagues around the world, including the NFL, MLB, NHL, English Premier League, and NBA.  This app is FREE and may be downloaded from AppBrain.
The world’s most advanced legal research system on your Android-powered device!The WestlawNext® Android™ app gives you the flexibility to work no matter where or when the need arises. Be ready in an instant with the WestlawNext Android app.  Download for your Android™ device at Google Play.
Disclaimer: The views and opinions of the authors expressed herein do not necessarily state or reflect those of the State of Georgia, and shall not be used for advertising or product endorsement purposes. Georgia State University College of Law and the authors of the works contained on this website do not assume or accept any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, currentness, or comprehensiveness of the content on this website. The content on this website does not in any manner constitute the issuance of legal advice or counsel. The information on this website is intended to provide resources that may aid the research of the topics presented, and are in no way a comprehensive list of sources one should consult on the topics presented. Please note that case law, statutory law, and administrative law may be modified and/or overturned. Additionally, because the laws vary between jurisdictions, the laws referred to herein may or may not be applicable to the law within the reader’s jurisdiction.