Books @ GSU Law
- GIL-FINDGIL-FIND is the online catalog for Georgia State University
- Juvenile Delinquents
- Juvenile Delinquency
- Juvenile Courts
- Administration of Juvenile Justice
University Library Databases
The following are compilations of databases based on a particular subject:
GSU Law Databases
Finding Articles
- HeinOnline -- Law Journal LibraryJuvenile and Family Court Journal
U.C. Davis Journal of Juvenile Law and Policy
Child Law Practice
University of La Verne Law Review - LegalTrac -- Subject GuideSearch "juvenile"
Subjects: Juvenile Offenders, Administration of Juvenile Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile & Capital Punishment, Juvenile & Sentences, Juvenile Corrections, Juvenile Courts. - ProQuest Education Journals1. Search "juvenile"
2. Select an appropriate subject
3. Select "Full Text" - ProQuest -- Criminal Justice Periodicals1. Search "juvenile"
2. Select an appropriate subject
3. Select "Full Text" - JSTORSearch "juvenile justice" or "juvenile delinquency"
- ERICSearch "juvenile justice" or "juvenile delinquency"
WestlawNext Treatises
Law Students Only. Users will need to log-in using their Westlaw Username and Password.
- Georgia Juvenile Practice & Procedure
- Georgia Procedure -- Combined Civil & Criminal
- Georgia Jurisprudence
- American Jurisprudence 2d
- American Law Reports
- Corpus Juris Secundum
- Am. Jur. 2d -- Juvenile Courts and Delinquent and Dependent ChildrenJuvenile, Justice, and Delinquency Prevention Act
- Legal Rights of Children
United States Code
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention is located under Title 42, Chapter 72 of the U.S. Code.
- United States Code Annotated (West)Law Students Only. Users will need to log-in using their Westlaw Username and Password.
- United States Code Service (LexisNexis)Law Students Only. Users will need to log-in using their LexisNexis Username and Password.
Regulations
The following sections of the Code of Federal Regulations are relevant to the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act:
- Title 28, Chapter 1, Part 18 (Office of Justice Programs Hearing and Appeal Procedures)
- Title 28, Chapter 1, Part 22 (Confidentiality of Identifiable Research and Statistical Information)
- Title 28, Chapter 1, Part 31 (OJJDP Grant Programs)
- Title 28, Chapter 1, Part 34 (OJJDP Competition and Peer Review Procedures)
Access the Code of Federal Regulations using one of the following:
- FDSys
- WestlawLaw Students Only. Users will need to log-in using their Westlaw Username and Password.
- LexisNexisLaw Students Only. Users will need to log-in using their LexisNexis Username and Password.
Legislation
- HeinOnline -- U.S. Federal Legislative History LibraryIndexed Legislative History of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974
- HeinOnline -- U.S. Federal Legislative History LibraryIndexed Legislative History of the Juvenile Justice Amendments of 1977
- ProQuest Congressional -- Legislative HistoryLegislative History for Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Act of 1974
- ProQuest Congressional -- Publications Related To P.L. 93-415CRS Reports, Hearings, and Committee Reports related to the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974, P.L. 93-415.
- THOMAS: S.678Senate Bill 678, "Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Reauthorization Act of 2009."
Georgia Statutes
The two primary areas to locate Georgia statutes on juvenile justice are the following:
- O.C.G.A. Title 49, Chapter 4A (Social Services -- Department of Juvenile Justice)
- O.C.G.A. Title 15, Chapter 11 (Courts -- Juvenile Proceedings)
- Official Code of Georgia (Public Access)
- Code of Georgia Annotated (West)Law Students Only. Users will need to log-in using their Westlaw Username and Password.
- Official Code of Georgia Annotated (LexisNexis)Law Students Only. Users will need to log-in using their LexisNexis Username and Password.
State Legislative History
The following resources will help you get started with researching Georgia Legislative History. If you need further assistance, or help with a state other than Georgia, stop by the Law Library Reference Collection.
- HeinOnline -- Session Laws LibrarySession Laws for U.S. States and Territories.
- Journal of the House of Representatives of the State of GeorgiaDates include 1975, 1980 - 2010.
The Law Library also has the House Journal located in print, call number KFG 423 .A82. Years covered are from 1939 to 2010. - Journals of the Senate of the state of GeorgiaDates include 1975, 1980-2011.
The Law Library also has the Senate Journal located in print, call number KFG 422 .A82. Years covered are from 1938 to 2010. - Georgia Legislative Bill History (LexisNexis)From 2006 through current; From the 2006 session through current. Limited coverage from the 2002 through
2005 sessions as well as 2008.
Law Students Only. Users will need to log-in using their LexisNexis Username and Password. - Georgia State University Law Review: Peach Sheets
State Laws
In addition to using Westlaw and LexisNexis, researchers can use the following resources to compare laws from different states.
- HeinOnline -- Subject Compilations of State LawsSubject: Juvenile Offenders
- HeinOnline: Subject Compilations of State LawsSubject: Juvenile Delinquents
- HeinOnline: Subject Compilations of State LawsSubject: Juvenile Courts
Subject Guide |
National Conference of State Legislatures
The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.
Useful Websites
- PBS: Juvenile Justice
- Legal Information Institute: Juvenile Justice
- National Criminal Justice Reference ServicesEstablished in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- Georgia Department of Juvenile JusticeThe Department of Juvenile Justice provides supervision, detention and a wide range of treatment and educational services for youths referred to the Department by the Juvenile Courts, and provides assistance or delinquency prevention services for at-risk youths through collaborative efforts with other public, private and community entities.
- Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP)OJJDP supports states, local communities, and tribal jurisdictions in their efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. The Office strives to strengthen the juvenile justice system's efforts to protect public safety, hold offenders accountable, and provide services that address the needs of youth and their families.
- ACT 4 Juvenile Justice (ACT4JJ)ACT 4 Juvenile Justice (ACT4JJ) is a campaign of the National Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Coalition composed of juvenile justice, child welfare and youth development organizations exploring opportunities related to the reauthorization of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act (JJDPA).
- Models for Change: Systems Reform in Juvenile JusticeModels for Change collaborates with selected states to advance juvenile justice reforms that effectively hold young people accountable for their actions, provide for their rehabilitation, protect them from harm, increase their life chances, and manage the risk they pose to themselves and to public safety.
- Juvenile Law CenterJuvenile Law Center is a national nonprofit public interest law firm that advances and protects the rights and well-being of youth in the child welfare and justice systems by using legal advocacy, publications, projects, public education, and training to ensure those children receive the protection and services they need to become productive adults.
- National Center for Juvenile Justice (NCJJ)The National Center for Juvenile Justice is the research division of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) in Reno, NV. NCJFCJ is a private, non-profit 501(c)(3). Since its inception in 1973, the Center has been a resource for independent and original research on topics related directly and indirectly to the field of juvenile justice.
- Center for Children's Law and PolicyThe Center for Children’s Law and Policy (CCLP) is a public interest law and policy organization focused on reform of juvenile justice and other systems that affect troubled and at-risk children, and protection of the rights of children in those systems. The Center’s work covers a range of activities including research, writing, public education, media advocacy, training, technical assistance, administrative and legislative advocacy, and litigation.

Loading...
