This is the "Home" page of the "Life as a Law Student" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Life as a Law Student   Tags: law_school  

This guide is focused on providing law students with resources pertaining to life as a law student. The focus is on blogs, websites, legal news, and books.
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.law.gsu.edu/lifeasalawstudent Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Blogs

  • Above the Law
    AboveTheLaw.com takes a behind-the-scenes look at the world of law. The site provides news and gossip about the profession’s most colorful personalities and powerful institutions, as well as original commentary on breaking legal developments
  • Bitter Lawyer
    Bitterlawyer.com is a legal humor and news blog targeted at disgruntled lawyers. The website features a webshow entitled "Living the Dream," which follows the bumblings of fictional big law junior associate Nick Conley.
  • JD2B Blog
    This resource for law students offers advice, commentary and news.
  • Law Students Legal Blogs on Blawg
    Collection of legal blogs by law students.
  • New Kid on the Hallway
    Blog from a former medieval historian who decided to leave academia and go to law school.
  • Wish I Would Have Known
    Advice from law students on how they would do things over.
 

Books

Cover Art
Ivy briefs : a privileged and confidential law school story - Martha Kimes
Call Number: KF373.K473 A3 2007
ISBN: 0743288386
First time author Kimes is entertaining and funny in recounting her three years at one of the country's premier law schools.

Cover Art
Law school success : a guide to studying law and taking law schoool exams - Ann M. Burkhart & Robert A. Stein.
Call Number: KF283 .B87 2008
ISBN: 031416779X
This book answers questions students have as they begin their studies. What is a tort? Hornbook? Should I join a study group? It also explains and gives examples of the best methods for studying and for taking exams. It provides questions and model answers from actual law school exams.

Cover Art
Law school survival manual : from LSAT to bar exam - Nancy B. Rapoport, Jeffrey D. Van Niel.
Call Number: KF283 .R37 2010
ISBN: 0735594902
In the Law School Survival Manual, Nancy Rapoport and Jeff Van Niel serve as the friendly voice of experience whose wit and wisdom will guide you through law school from the application process to orientation, and from your first year to graduation - including summer jobs, clerkships, and the bar exam.

Cover Art
Law school without fear: strategies for success - Helene Shapo
Call Number: KF386 .S44 2009
ISBN: 1599414198
The book discusses in simple terms what law students need to know about law school and how to get the most out the law school experience. The text also discusses the problems law students encounter most frequently and solutions to those problems. Topics covered include briefing a case, precedent and how to use it, balancing competing interests and factors, legal writing, and psychological tips for the study of law.

Cover Art
Strategies & tactics for the first year law student : maximize your grades - Kimm Alayne Walton and Lazar Emanuel
Call Number: KF283 .W35 2010
ISBN: 0735591075
This book provides a detailed, step-by-step program for surviving the first year of law school. Tips for note-taking, outlines, exams, and handling the pressures of law school.

Cover Art
The international student's survival guide to law school in the United States : everything you need to succeed - Rachel Gader-Shafran
Call Number: KF283 .G33 2003
ISBN: 0595278361
What to expect before you come to law school; What to do when you get to law school; How to organize for classes; How study for exams; How to attack writing papers.


Cover Art
The New What Can You Do with a Law Degree - Larry Richard; Tanya Hanson; Deborah L. Arron
Call Number: KF297 .A875 2012
ISBN: 0940675714
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Written by a lawyer for lawyers, Deborah Arron's book is a virtual encyclopedia for lawyers in transition, covering such topics as how to conduct a self-assessment and transferable skills analysis, how to detect and prepare for layoff, how to establish a transitional financial plan, how to market your special talents, how to work with career consultants and headhunters, how to decide whether to stay in law or leave, how to avoid job-interview hell, how to handle compensation negotiations that work in your favor.

Cover Art
The Jim report : my life in law school - James Reavis
Call Number: KF373.R394 A3 2011
ISBN: 1594609357
This modern version of law school life from the perspective of a (mostly) ordinary student tells it like it is, without the benefit of hindsight, and leaves the matter up to the readers to decide if law school is right for them.

Cover Art
Gerson's Asked and Answered - Donna Gerson
Call Number: KF283 .G47 2008
ISBN: 0314190880
Publication Date: 2008-04-24
Asked & Answered provides practical responses to the most commonly-asked questions that second-year students have regarding career issues: where to find the right job this summer, building a great resume, writing a compelling cover letter, networking advice, and much more. Answers are provided by successful attorneys, law school professors, and career service professionals. These answers will enable students to gain a competitive edge, use all of the resources at their disposal, and succeed in their professional lives.

Cover Art
Getting to Maybe - Richard Michael Fischl; Jeremy Paul
Call Number: KF283 .F47 1999 c.1
ISBN: 0890897603
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Professors Fischl and Paul teach how to excel on law school exams by showing the reader how legal analysis can be brought to bear on examination problems. The book contains hints on studying and preparation that go well beyond conventional advice. The authors also illustrate how to argue both sides of a legal issue without appearing wishy-washy or indecisive. Above all, the book explains why exam questions may generate feelings of uncertainty or doubt about correct legal outcomes and how the student can turn these feelings to his or her advantage.

Cover Art
Insider's Guide to Your First Year of Law School - Justin Spizman
Call Number: KF283 .S65 2007 c.1
ISBN: 1598690841
Publication Date: 2007-03-13
Veteran law student Justin Spizman offers hints and advice to students considering law school and those that are already ensconced in the curriculum and atmosphere, but need a push in the right direction. "The Insider's Guide to Your First Year of Law School" promises to get any student through the first year unscathed! It contains: student tips and section summaries; step-by-step outlines; and professor pointers. Written for students by a student.

Cover Art
''One L of a Year'' - Leah M. Christensen
Call Number: KF283 .C485 2012
ISBN: 1594609470
Publication Date: 2012-10-22
The purpose of ''One L of a Year'' is to focus on the reading, studying and testing strategies used by the most successful law students. This book is more than advice — it is a learning guide based upon empirical research and statistical correlations between law student learning and their law school GPAs.

 

Research Help

Austin Williams
Ref/Student Services Librarian
404-413-9162
austin@gsu.edu
Room 103

Deborah  Schander
Ref/Student Services Librarian
404-413-9124
dschander@gsu.edu
Room 102 

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip