Skip to main content
Banner Image

Student Writing Competitions



The National Academy of Social Insurance is sponsoring the Annual Law Student Writing Award. The paper may address issues relating to legal and policy issues relating any social insurance programs. The winner will receive $2,500 and the opportunity to participate in the conference with expenses paid.

The deadline for submission is September 15, 2015.


PIABA Foundation

The PIABA Foundation is sponsoring the 2015 James E. Beckley Securities Arbitration and Law Writing Competition.  The submission may address any aspect of Securities Law; Securities Arbitration; The Federal Arbitration Act, Title 9, US Code, Section 1-14; or FINRA Code of Arbitration, effective April 16, 2007 and any changes or proposed changes to that Code.  The winner will receive $1,000 and publication in the PIABA Bar Journal; second place receives $750; third, $500.

The deadline for submission is September 18, 2015.

ABA Section of Public Contract Law

The Section of Public Contract Law is sponsoring its 2015 Writing Competition.  The paper should address a topical issue of interest to the public contract and grant law community.  The first place winner will receive $5,000; second place, $2,500; third place, $1,000.  Winning entries will be considered for publication in the Public Contract Law Journal and may be invited to present their papers at the Federal Procurement Institute.

The deadline for submission is September 30, 2015.




American University Washington College of Law Center for Human Rights & Humanitarian Law

The American Univ. Washington College of Law Center for Human Rights & Humanitarian Law is sponsoring the 2015 International Humanitarian Law Student Writing Competition. Submissions papers should address the Intersection of International Humanitarian Law and Gender. The winner will receive a $500 cash prize and a one-year American Society of International Law’s Lieber Society student membership. The winning author will also have the opportunity to present his or paper through a virtual conference with a panel of experts.

The deadline for submission is October 7, 2015.


NACTT Academy

The NACTT Academy for Consumer Bankruptcy Education, Inc. is sponsoring the Fall 2015 Law Student Writing Competition.  Submissions should encompass any topic or issue concerning Chapter 13 of the United States Bankruptcy Code.  First place receives $750; second, $500; third, $250.  Winning submissions will be published on the website.

The deadline for submission is October 31, 2015.




The Association of Securities and Exchange Commission Alumni is sponsoring the Securities Law Writing Competition. The paper may address any subject in the field of securities law. The prize for first place is $5,000; second, $3,000; third, $2000.

The deadline for submission is November 15, 2015.
The CPR is sponsoring the Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article or Paper.  The submission should address resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes involving public or business institutions, such as those between corporations, between government and corporations, or among multiple parties.
The deadline for submission is November 3, 2015.


Center for Alcohol Policy

The Center for Alcohol Policy is sponsoring their Eighth Annual Essay Contest. The paper should address The Supreme Court’s Granholm decision and answer how has this “unquestionably legitimate” system fostered competition, increased new products available to consumers and worked to protect consumers and the public? First place receives $5000; second place receives $2,500; third receives $1,000.

The deadline for submission is December 5, 2015.

Institute for Energy Law

The Institute for Energy Law is sponsoring the IEL Hartrick Scholar Competition. The submission may address any topic related to energy development. The winner will receive a $2,500 cash award at the Institute for Energy Law’s 67th Annual Oil & Gas Law Conference and recognized for his or her work at the IEL’s Annual Law School Symposium. In addition, the award includes reimbursement of the cost of travel to attend the Conference in Houston and the Law School Symposium.

The deadline for submission is December 11, 2015.

Disclaimer: The views and opinions of the authors expressed herein do not necessarily state or reflect those of the State of Georgia, and shall not be used for advertising or product endorsement purposes. Georgia State University College of Law and the authors of the works contained on this website do not assume or accept any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, currentness, or comprehensiveness of the content on this website. The content on this website does not in any manner constitute the issuance of legal advice or counsel. The information on this website is intended to provide resources that may aid the research of the topics presented, and are in no way a comprehensive list of sources one should consult on the topics presented. Please note that case law, statutory law, and administrative law may be modified and/or overturned. Additionally, because the laws vary between jurisdictions, the laws referred to herein may or may not be applicable to the law within the reader’s jurisdiction.