Skip to main content

Reopening Guide

Borrowing Things (& More)

When you want to borrow things from the library, you do that at the circulation desk.

We have a general collection of materials mostly about law, as well as others like our leisure or our study aids collections. We also have other items available, like board games. 

More details about Circulation are provided below:

undefined

Hours & Staff

Hours

The Circulation Desk hours are reduced due to COVID-19. We will open to all students on Monday, August 17th, for the first day of classes. Weekend hours will begin after classes start.

The Circulation Desk will typically be staffed during the fall semester as described in the table below. See https://lawlibrary.gsu.edu/calendar/ for exact hours.

Monday - Thursday Friday Saturday & Sunday
8:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. 8:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Meet Our Circulation Staff

undefined

Gerald Perriman

Access Services Coordinator

gperriman@gsu.edu

undefined

Fawn She

Library Associate II

undefined

Juanita Wheeler

Library Technical Assistant

 

Fall 2020 Semester Casebooks

Under normal circumstances, the law library keeps a copy of course casebooks on reserve for periodic use when students have forgotten their copy. However, due to the pandemic and the need to quarantine print materials after each use, this service will not be available for Fall 2020.

Books in the course reserves collection have been moved to general stacks and are available for one-week borrowing. We are not adding books to the collection at this time. 


The following casebook publisher has made the following promotion available. 

West Academic has extended a 15% discount for print and electronic casebooks purchased through their web store! Please reach out to lawreference@gsu.edu for the discount code that you will need to enter at checkout.

Access to Online Resources

The Law Library provides access to a bunch of useful online resources that will help you as you make your way through law school. You can find individual titles, including books and journals or law reviews, by searching the online catalog. The Law Library home page has a list of databases that you can access using your campus ID. Additional databases are provided by University Library. You will need your campus ID to access those databases.

Some databases will require other logins and passwords. These include the Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI), Lexis, and Westlaw. The access codes for setting up those accounts will be distributed during orientation. See the CALI/Lexis/Westlaw tab in this guide for more info about these resources.

Also, online study aids are available, including a variety of titles that will help you with your classes OR help you with the adjustment to law school. To learn more about study aids, including online access, see the Study Aids tab in this guide.

Due Dates, Renewing, and Returning Law Library Items

Due Dates for Law Library Items

Law Library materials from the main collection circulate for three weeks. When you check out an item, you receive an email indicating the due date and time. Borrowing periods are shorter for items from other collections including reserves, study aids, and leisure. 

Overdue items accrue fines, and fines are payable by check or cashier check. If your account has multiple overdue items or fines over $10.00, it may be blocked from further borrowing. If you have more questions, contact Gerald Perriman at gperriman@gsu.edu.


Renewals

Most items may be renewed unless another person has requested it using the online catalog

You can use your library account to renew books by following these directions. If you have any issues renewing items online, contact Gerald Perriman at gperriman@gsu.edu


Returning Items

You may return materials you borrow from Law Library to the Circulation Desk on the 5th floor. For your convenience, we have added a drop box just outside the College of Law entrance. Of course, you may also use the drop box at the University Library to return Law Library items. The box is located at the Library South entrance. 

Law Library items may also be returned at the Perimeter College Libraries. You can find those drop boxes outside of other GSU campus libraries.

Disclaimer: The views and opinions of the authors expressed herein do not necessarily state or reflect those of the State of Georgia, and shall not be used for advertising or product endorsement purposes. Georgia State University College of Law and the authors of the works contained on this website do not assume or accept any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, currentness, or comprehensiveness of the content on this website. The content on this website does not in any manner constitute the issuance of legal advice or counsel. The information on this website is intended to provide resources that may aid the research of the topics presented, and are in no way a comprehensive list of sources one should consult on the topics presented. Please note that case law, statutory law, and administrative law may be modified and/or overturned. Additionally, because the laws vary between jurisdictions, the laws referred to herein may or may not be applicable to the law within the reader’s jurisdiction.