LibGuides: Evidence: Introduction

About This Guide

Evidence Law governs the proof of facts in a legal proceeding. It determines what can be considered by trier of fact in reaching its decision. This guide covers the law of evidence in Georgia and at the federal level, with a focus on the most essential sources and strategies.

The following treatises are good places to begin your research into Georgia Evidence Law. Secondary Sources like these describe and explain the law, which makes them an ideal entryway for researching an issue or topic. For a more complete selection of the library's secondary sources on Georgia Evidence Law, check out the tab below. For a look at the library's entire collection of treatises, here's our Treatise Finder. If these treatises seem too detailed, consider a legal encyclopedia. For help with secondary sources more generally, check out our Secondary Sources Guide. If you want an overview for a law school class, study aids are your best choice.

Green's Georgia Law of Evidence
- This link opens in a new window
This compact treatise aims to provide a complete guide to evidence law in Georgia. Each section is relatively short yet contains copious citations to primary authority. Throughout, the changes enacted in the 2013 revision to the Evidence Code are thoroughly discussed. You can also find the physical volume under KFG540.G7 2020/2021 in the library's reference collection.
Agnor's Georgia Evidence
- This link opens in a new window
This short treatise gives an overview of Georgia Evidence Law, with a particular focus throughout on comparing it to the Federal Rules of Evidence. You can also find the physical book under KFG540 .A94 2020/2021 in the library's reference collection.

The following treatises are good places to begin your research into Federal Evidence Law. Secondary Sources like these describe and explain the law, which makes them an ideal entryway for researching an issue or topic. For a more complete selection of the library's secondary sources on Federal Evidence Law, check out the tab below. For a look at the library's entire collection of treatises, here's our Treatise Finder. If these treatises seem too detailed, consider a legal encyclopedia. For help with secondary sources more generally, check out our Secondary Sources Guide. If you want an overview for a law school class, study aids are your best choice.

Federal Rules of Evidence (Treatise)
- This link opens in a new window
This single-volume treatise is styled as a series of annotations to the Federal Rules of Evidence. It is concise enough for an overview, while also presenting a diversity of authority where there is more than one view.
Weinstein's Federal Evidence
- This link opens in a new window
One of the most authoritative treatises on the subject, this looseleaf offers comprehensive, detailed coverage of federal evidence law.
Federal Practice & Procedure (Wright & Miller)
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive treatise on federal procedure includes exhaustive coverage of the Federal Rules of Evidence. Using it to research the law of evidence can help to situate it within the broader context of procedure.