LibGuides: Law Review Resources: Source Collection Resources

GIL, the Library Catalog

One of the most overlooked resources in the Law Library is the catalog, GIL (or GIL-Find). GIL contains records of the books in the Law Library and the University Library and links to sources in the libraries' databases. Think of it as the first place to go for any sort of information on what we have in the library.

The Database List

In addition to the resources listed on this page, the Law Library and University Library subscribe to a variety of databases on various subjects. If you're looking for something and can't find it, check in the database list - we may have it there!

GSU Law Library Databases
Databases available to students through the GSU Law Library.
GSU University Library Databases
A list of non-legal databases provided by the University Library, organized by topic.

WorldCat

If you're starting to even wonder if the source exists, you may want to check in WorldCat. WorldCat is the combined catalog of public, academic, private, and government libraries around the world, and contains records for almost any resource that's available. If it's not in WorldCat, there's a good chance that it doesn't exist.

Federal Primary Sources

You could always go to the books to find the source you need in the U.S. Code, the CFR, or the Statutes at Large, but now you can also find them in HeinOnline. You will need to log-in with your MyLaw ID and password if you are off-campus.

U.S. Code Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of the current and historical versions of the United States Code. In PDF format.
HeinOnline hosts a dedicated LibGuide for this collection that offers additional information, including search tips.

U.S. Statutes at Large Library
Full text of the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1790 to the present

Code of Federal Regulations Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains PDF images of the current and prior editions of the Code of Federal Regulations
HeinOnline hosts a dedicated LibGuide for this collection that offers additional information, including search tips.
Federal Register Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PDF page images of the entire history of the Federal Register.
HeinOnline hosts a dedicated LibGuide for this collection that offers additional information, including search tips.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains PDF page images of almost anything relating to the work of the U.S. Congress. Contains hearings, House and Senate reports, the Congressional Record, and Congressional Research Service reports.
ProQuest hosts a dedicated LibGuide for this collection that offers additional information including search tips.

ProQuest Legislative Insight Digital Archive
Compilations of full-text legislative histories.
Congress.gov
Maintained by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov contains legislation from the 103rd Congress (1993) to the present, member profiles from the 93rd Congress (1973) to the present, and some member profiles from the 80th through the 92nd Congresses (1947 to 1972).

State Primary Sources

LLMC-Digital
LLMC collection of legal documents

Dockets

Electronic Journals

If you're looking for a journal, the first place to look should be in the Law Library's Catalog, GIL-FIND. You can also locate journal articles using the Unviersity Library's Discover Search. Finally, you can also use the University Library's Electronic Journal Locator.

Full text journals can also be found in the following databases:

SSRN- Legal Scholarship Network This link opens in a new window
Useful for recent articles, SSRN is an inter-disciplinary database of journal articles and working papers uploaded by academics. Often the articles are PDFs of the actual page images; however, sometimes the articles posted are only preliminary drafts.
College of Law faculty can learn more about SSRN including eJournals, posting to SSRN, and the Research Paper Series here

JSTOR
JSTOR contains the full-text, in PDF, for all journals it covers. JSTOR covers journals in law, political science, history, economics, business, and other subjects, and is often a great first place to start for journals outside of law.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete covers trade magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines.

Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Law Journal Library is HeinOnline's signature collection of more than 2,900 fully searchable, image-based journals, each dating back to the first issue ever published. Library Includes the following sub-libraries: American Bar Association Journals, Core U.S. Journals, Criminal Justice Journals, International & Non-U.S. Law Journals, and Most-Cited Law Journals.
HeinOnline hosts a dedicated LibGuide for this collection that offers additional information, including search tips.

Newspapers

Locating a cited newspaper article can be difficult. The Law Library generally does not attempt to obtain newspaper articles through Interlibrary Loan for source collection. However, there are some places you can look besides LexisNexis and Westlaw for the full-text of newspaper articles.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full-text access to many well-known newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, and The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.