These treatises are available in the law library, and can be helpful to give you a good overview on education law. If you move your cursor over the "i" a brief description will appear, and you can use this to help determine if the resource is relevant to your research.
The Law of Schools, Students and Teachers in a Nutshell by
This text captures the key points of the precedents governing student rights and responsibilities relating to attendance, speech, expression, religion, discipline, grades, tests, drugs, search and seizure, the emerging law of social media, i.e., cyberbullying, and the range of procedural due process interests. The book further addresses the range of constitutional rights and protections for teachers as well as employment terms and conditions, including contracts, tenure and potential liabilities.
The Law of Higher Education by
The book provides foundational information and conceptual building blocks, in-depth analysis of key developments, and practical suggestions on a wide array of legal and policy issues faced by public and private institutions; the book also recommends and describes numerous additional resources to aid research, analysis and legal planning
Special Education Law by
In this third edition, Guernsey and Klare continue to provide a comprehensive overview of the federal statutes, regulations, and case law that affect the education of children with disabilities from birth to age 22. The book provides a solid background in special education law and is fully up-to-date with the recent recodification of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, the new Department of Education regulations, and the recent case law, including the most recent United States Supreme Court decisions. For the lawyer, comprehensive citations to statutes, regulations, and case law provide the information necessary to conduct detailed legal research. Numerous checklists and forms provide assistance with the practical application of the legal requirements.
Teachers and the Law by
A comprehensive and user-friendly guide to school law with a wholly unique question-and-answer format. Written in a user-friendly question-and-answer format that engages and encourages readers, the new eighth edition of Teachers and the Law offers future educators a thorough and wide-ranging understanding of United States public school law. Eliminating technical and intimidating legal speak in favor of clear and simple explanations, this comprehensive school law text provides school professions with the knowledge and tools they need to both understand legal issues as they arise and to practice preventive law regardless of their legal background. Blending the use of straightforward and easy-to-understand prose with real-life examples and case studies, Teachers and the Law is a vital reference for those who are likely to face pressing school law questions in their coming careers as educators. The newest edition of this text highlights current trends and decisions in the most recent areas of school law. New topics include teachers' controversial postings on the internet, the Teacher Liability Protection Act, peer sexual harassment, disciplining students for cyber-bullying, recent restrictions on teachers' academic freedom and personal life, protections for gay and lesbian students, and for students' freedom of religious and political expression. The eighth edition also explains changes in affirmative action decisions, special education, and the likely changes in the No Child Left Behind law. In addition, the most current edition divides the topic of freedom of expression into two chapters to give readers an expanded understanding of this increasingly controversial topic for both teachers and students.
A Teacher's Guide to Education Law by
This clearly written text, which is adapted from its parent volume, Education Law, Fourth edition, provides a concise introduction to topics in education law that are most relevant to teachers. The greater the likelihood of litigation or error in a particular area of professional practice the more extensive the discussion. Topics concerning teacher relationships with their students include: student rights, discipline, negligence, discrimination, and special education. Topics concerning teacher relationships with their employers include: teacher rights, hiring and firing, contracts, unions, collective bargaining, and tenure. All chapters have been updated to include the case law and legislation of the past five years, and the index contains almost 200 more entries than in the third edition. Because it is concise and affordable, A Teacher's Guide to Education Lawcan be used in a variety of courses or in professional seminars dealing with teachers and the law, including any course within a teacher education program that is devoted solely or partly to the legal issues that concern teachers.
Practical Education Law for the Twenty-First Century by
This one-volume treatise summarizes and explains a myriad of legal trends and principles in the rich and varied field of American education law. The second edition of Practical Education Law for the Twenty-First Century is divided into ten chapters, each dealing with a substantive area in education law. Topics covered include school finances, school search and crime issues, residency and fee issues, basic labor law, alternative education and vouchers, injuries to students, athletics, and the overall organization and regulation of public education. Within each chapter are a number of concise sections that address specific legal concerns. Citations are nationwide in scope and include references to updated federal and state case law, federal statutory law, and state statutory law. Practical law tips appear throughout the volume.
This highly readable text is extremely accessible to nonlegal audiences, as well as useful to the legally trained reader and to the law student.
In addition to Lexis and Westlaw, the following databases can be helpful in locating relevant articles on education law:
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowIn addition to legal databases, much information relevant to education law is available in databases that are not focused primarily on legal research, such as:
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves the Congress throughout the legislative process by providing comprehensive and reliable legislative research and analysis that are timely, objective, authoritative, and confidential, thereby contributing to an informed national legislature.
This link opens in a new window