Federal law, from acts passed by Congress to regulations from the Department of Education, can be found at:
United States Code Title 20: Education (Public Access)
Georgia law, from acts passed by the Georgia General Assembly to regulations from the Department of Education, can be found at:
O.C.G.A Title 20: Education (Public Access)
Georgia Rules and Regulations Chapter 160: Education (Public Access)
Local and Municipal Education Law in Georgia :
Municode publishes a wide variety of local codes, including codes for Atlanta, Fulton County, Dekalb County, and a number of other counties and cities in Georgia. All of these codes are available in full text online.
Policies on personnel, students, public relations, and school board operations.
Contains contact information and website addresses for each local school district in Georgia.
Case law on education law includes federal and state appellate cases:
Cases from all levels of the federal court system, from 1789 to the present, that relate to public or private education.
Includes cases from all states on public and private education. Coverage varies by state.
In addition to reprinting federal and state cases dealing with education law, the Education Law Reporter also includes scholarly articles on various topics related to education law.
Many education law cases begin (and often end) with decisions rendered by a local school board or an administrative law judge. There are several specific sources for locating these decisions:
In addition to federal and state appellate decisions, this bimonthly service includes the text of decisions from the Georgia Board of Education and state and regional hearing officers.
This massive set, published since 1979, covers statutes, regulations, cases, and policy decisions on special education law, including, but not limited to, implementation of IDEA.
Opinions and orders from the United States Department of Education, Office of Hearings and Appeals, including decisions of the Education Appeals Board and Civil Rights Reviewing Authority. Coverage begins with 1987.
A lot of education law is state law, and therefore requires you to research Georgia law and the law of another state. Because the process of researching can vary from state to state, you may want to start with one of the following state-specific research guides:
50 state surveys provide information on the laws of various states on a topic, and are useful if you need to compare the laws of two or more states on a particular subject. Some of the most useful sources for 50 state surveys are:
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 54 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThe Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe Federal Register (Fed. Reg.) is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window