LibGuides: International Legal Research: Treaties

Treaty Indexes

Department of State- Treaty Affairs
This site is used to find treaties in which the United States is a party. Its primary use is verification of the existence of a treaty.
Department of State- Treaty Actions
This is used to update Treaties in Force. They can also be found on LexisAdvance and Westlaw.
Treaties in Force
Treaties in Force provides information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party. It is divided into two sections. The first section contains information on bilateral treaties, international agreements listed by country, and other international entities. The second section lists multilateral treaties to which the United States is a party by subject.
A Guide to United States Treaties in Force
United States Treaty Index
United States Treaty Research and Interpretation
This guide is a comprehensive resource to finding treaties to which the United States is a party -- official and unofficial, bilateral and multi-lateral, print and electronic. Provided by Yale.

Senate Treaty Document Series
State Department-Bilateral Investment Treaties
State Department-Non-Proliferation Treaties
Published by the state department, this site contains a list of non-proliferation treaties and provides a link to Arms-control related treaties and agreements.
U.S. Department of Commerce, Trade and Related Agreements Database
Published by the Trade Compliance Center, this site contains a list of Trade and Related Agreements with an option to search.
Trade Agreements from the U.S. Trade Representative
This site provides access to World Trade Organization agreements, Free Trade agreements, Trade & Investment Framework agreements, Bilateral Investment treaties, and other initiatives.
U.S. Income Tax Treaties from the IRS
This site provides links to United State income tax treaties organized by country.

United Nations Treaty Series
This site contains a list of full text treaties by searchable title and participant.
World LII Treaties by Country
This site contains a list of treaties and international agreements by country.
more...less...
These counties are Afghanistan, Algeria, Armenia, Australia, Barbados, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Egypt. El Salvador, Estonia, France, Germany, Guyana, Holy See, Hong Kong China, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, South Korea, Latvia, Macau China, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraquay, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Syria, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Venezuela and Vietnam
Foreign and International Law Resources: An Annotated Guide to Web Sites Around the World
This research guide by Harvard Law School contains additional steps for finding treaties and international agreements.