LibGuides: Mergers & Acquisitions Law: Secondary Sources

GIL-Find Catalog Searches

Journals

Law Reviews & Journals Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Contains documents from law reviews and CLE materials from U.S. and Canadian based publications. Coverage varies by publication.
HeinOnline - Law Journal Library Subjects
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals contains information on articles from U.S. and foreign publications on matters involving foreign law.
LegalTrac
Select "Browse Subjects" at the top of the screen and search "Acquisitions and Mergers" to find subject tags related to M&A.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

Treatises

Corporate Acquisitions, Mergers, & Divestitures
- This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource on corporate acquisitions, mergers, and divestitures offers expert guidance on tax and nontax considerations, legal and nonlegal ramifications, bankruptcies, reorganizations, financial restructurings, and transnational dealings. In-depth scrutiny of both one- and multiple-step acquisitions, lock-up arrangements, tender offers, clean-up transactions, and divestitures. You also receive a monthly newsletter that keeps you up to date on new developments.
Corporate Counsel's Guide to Acquisitions & Divestitures
- This link opens in a new window
Provides complete coverage of the purchase or sale of divisions and subsidiaries, acquisition of closely held companies, and friendly acquisitions of public companies.

Chapter 17: Federal Income Tax Considerations in Mergers and Acquisitions and Public Securities Offerings: Practical Advice for the Nonspecialist
International Trade & U.S. Antitrust Law
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Spencer Weber Waller & Jeffrey L. Kessler
International Trade and U.S. Antitrust (2d ed.) discusses current U.S. statutes, regulations, and case law and explores how they apply to international competition, regulation, and litigation.

Chapter 3: Section 7 of the Clayton Act
Chapter 9: Multi-Jurisdictional Mergers
Federal Control of Business
- This link opens in a new window
The title of Federal Control of Business: Antitrust Laws offers an overview of classic federal antitrust statutes plus recent court and regulatory developments.

Chapter X: Mergers
Dolan: U.S. Taxation of International Mergers, Acquisitions & Joint Ventures (WG&L)
- This link opens in a new window
Author: D. Kevin Dolan
Analyzes U.S. taxation issues relating to both inbound and outbound mergers, acquisitions, and joint ventures.
Rowley & Baker: International Mergers - The Antitrust Process
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive treatise providing Information an analysis on the rules and filing requirements pertaining to international mergers. Information on 60 jurisdictions is provided, including the United States, the United Kingdom, the European Union and EU member states.
Acquisitions and Mergers: Negotiated and Contested Transactions
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Simon M. Lorne & Joy Marlene Bryan
Acquisitions and Mergers: Negotiated and Contested Transactions provides guidance on the handling of the merger or acquisition of a business and its assets, and the structuring of leveraged buyouts, including the impact of federal and state regulations.
REITs: Mergers and Acquisitions
- This link opens in a new window
Covering both fundamental and advanced issues, the authors discuss: structural considerations, directors' duties, documenting the deal, financing, tax considerations, friendly and hostile transactions, defensive techniques and the processes for selling or taking REITs private.
Corporate Acquisitions and Mergers
- This link opens in a new window
A thorough, easy-to-use guide to the antitrust, tax, corporate, securities and financial aspects of business combinations with extensive forms.
Anatomy of a Merger: Strategies and Techniques for Negotiating Corporate Acquisitions
- This link opens in a new window
Anatomy of a Merger: Strategies and Techniques for Negotiating Corporate Acquisitions is a unique guide to handling a corporate acquisition negotiation successfully.

Legal Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence 2d (Am. Jur. 2d) and Corpus Juris Secundum (C.J.S.) are two good sources to consult to get basic information on an area of law.

Am. Jur. 2d is an encyclopedia containing over 400 separate titles on a broad range of legal topics. In Am. Jur. 2d, look in the Corporations and the Foreign Corporations section for information on M&A.

American Jurisprudence 2d (Am. Jur. 2d)
Print edition. Call # KF154
American Jurisprudence 2d (Lexis)
- This link opens in a new window
American Jurisprudence 2d Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
American Jurisprudence 2d Index Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Keyword searchable index for Am. Jur.

C.J.S. is a legal encyclopedia covering state and federal legal topics, and has been cited over 90,000 times by all levels of U.S. Courts. In C.J.S., look in the Corporations section for information on M&A.

Corpus Juris Secundum (C.J.S.)
Print edition. Call # KF154
Corpus Juris Secundum Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Corpus Juris Secundum Index Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Keyword searchable index for C.J.S.

American Law Reports

American Law Reports provides researchers with in-depth analysis of unique, controversial, or unsettled areas of the law.

American Law Reports (A.L.R.)
Print Version. Call # KF132
American Law Reports (Lexis)
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles included in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Federal and Federal Second.
American Law Reports Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles included in the First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Federal, and Federal Second series of American Law Reports (A.L.R.) and the Index to Annotations covering these series.
American Law Reports Index Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the entire system currently, allowing you to find annotations on specific points of law.
A.L.R. Index - Consolidation and Merger Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window

CRS Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves the Congress throughout the legislative process by providing comprehensive and reliable legislative research and analysis that are timely, objective, authoritative, and confidential, thereby contributing to an informed national legislature.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
After entering ProQuest Congressional, click on "Advanced Search" located in the left navigation and then unselect everything under "Limit to" except "CRS Reports." This will enable you to search for only CRS reports.
ProQuest hosts a dedicated LibGuide for this collection that offers additional information including search tips.

CRS Reports (Federation of American Scientists)
Free access to CRS Reports on topics related to intelligence, homeland security, terrorism, and foreign affairs.
CRS Reports (UNT Digital Library)
Free access to CRS Reports provided by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries.