LibGuides: Bluebooking Tips and Resources: Primary Source Citations

U.S. Primary Sources: Rules and Tables

Rules 10-15 cover the various types of domestic primary sources. In addition to these general rules, also pay attention to:

Table 1: United States Jurisdictions
Table 1 contains information about which primary sources to cite for each jurisdiction in the United States, as well as how to cite those sources.
Rule 18.3.2: Statutes in a Database
Statutes located in a database should contain references to the database used; Rule 18.3.2 discusses how to format these references and provides examples.
Rule 10.7.1: Explanatory Phrases
Provides guidance on when to include phrases addressing prior and subsequent history, cases with multiple dispositions, later events affecting the authority of a case, and cases involving slavery. A list of some explanatory phrases is available at T8.

Rules 20-21 cover citations to foreign and international primary sources. In addition to these rules, look at:

Table 2: Foreign Jurisdictions
Table 2 contains information on how to cite materials for a variety of foreign countries. If a country is not covered in Table 2, it may be covered in the Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations 2d ed., K89.G85 2009 (Reference).
Table 3: Intergovernmental Organizations
Table 3 contains examples of how to cite materials from organizations such as the United Nations, European Communities, and various international tribunals.
Table 4: Treaties
Table 4 contains sources for treaties, including U.S. and non-U.S. sources.