LibGuides: Urban Fellows: News and Statistics Resources

General News Sources

Most of these sources allow for subject searching, including a number of Urban Planning / Development Topics. Subject headings will allow you to narrow your research to these topics, and then focus on other things you're looking for like regions or sub topics.

Factiva
Large news searching database. Includes publications like Atlanta Journal Constitution, Atlanta Business Chronicle, and Wall Street Journal. Supports subject heading searching : Suggested heading - Urban Rural Planning
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Contains the full text of major and regional national and international papers. Suggested subject terms: Urban planning, area planning & development.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Contains full text for newspapers and other news sources. Suggested subject descriptors: Urban planning, regional planning, land use planning.
Law 360
- This link opens in a new window
Go-to practitioner source for Legal News
Urban Wire
Blog of the Urban Institute

Statistics

Census.gov - Data
Main census data page. Replacement for American Factfinder for new information as of June 2019
Census.gov
Census.gov - American Housing Survey Table Creator
The AHS Table Creator gives you the ability to create customized tables from the American Housing Survey without having to use the Public
Census.gov - Quickfacts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more
SimplyAnalytics
Contains a wealth of data from various sources, including demographic, census, employment, and business data.
PolicyMap
Allows users to map different data sets against each other, including demographic information, housing information, and user-created data sets.

Policy Organizations, Trade Publications, Journals, and Magazines

American City and County
A magazine serving city, county, and state officials who are developing and implementing government policy and more.
NAIOP - Commercial Real Estate Development Association
NAIOP provides advocacy, education and business opportunities in the commercial real estate development and investment industry.
Public Square
Public Square: A CNU Journal is a publication dedicated to illuminating and cultivating best practices in urbanism in the US and beyond.
Journal of Housing and Community Development
Periodical devoted exclusively to the affordable housing and community development (HCD) field. It features articles on all aspects of the industry, including legislation and advocacy, finance, international HCD initiatives, green building, maintenance and administration, as well as semi-regular columns from leaders in the field
Shelterforce
Shelterforce is an independent, non-academic publication covering the worlds of community development, affordable housing, and neighborhood stabilization.
Metropolis Magazine
An architecture, design, and city planning magazine
Planetizen
Urban Institute Metropolitan Housing and Communities Policy Center