LibGuides: Genetics & the Law: Library Databases

PubMed

PubMed is among the largest and most comprehensive databases of biomedical literature. To effectively search in PubMed, keep a few tips in mind:

The MeSH database allows you to search for articles assigned to a specific subject and combination of subjects. Keep in mind that takes a few months for articles to be assigned subjects.
Full text is not available in PubMed for most articles; however, links in the upper right of the screen and in the "Link Out - more resources" section can lead you to the full text.
Options for narrowing your results on the left can be useful, particularly the option to limit by article type. Article types that tend to be less technical include: Book reviews, biography, autobiography, editorial, historical article, interview, introductory journal article, legal cases, and news.
The University Library has a comprehensive research guide about searching PubMed.

ProQuest and EBSCO Databases

ProQuest and EBSCO offer a range of databases covering all subjects. Each database has different advanced search features.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete covers trade magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines.
ProQuest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Biology Database
ProQuest's database specific to biological science. Includes a thesaurus and advanced search features allowing you to limit by article type.

JSTOR

JSTOR contains full text historical content for journals across a wide range of disciplines, including law, health, social sciences, and history. The primary search method offered is a full text search; however, articles can also be searched within subjects and topics.