LibGuides: Litigation: Federal

Introduction to Federal Litigation Materials

This tab will provide users with information on a variety of topics dealt with in federal litigation. For each category listed below, there will be at least one resource that pertains specifically to that topic.

The topics are organized based on the litigation syllabus and their order in actual trial preparation. Start with the top box in the left column and work your way down the left side first, then move to the right column.

Topic Order

Trial Handbooks & Guides
Practice & Procedure
Client Interview
Discovery
Depositions
Motions
Jury Selection
Opening Statements
Evidence
Direct & Cross Examination
Trial Objections
Closing Arguments
Jury Instructions

Trial Handbooks & Guides

Navigating the Federal Trial - Robert E. Larsen
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes drafting jury instructions, preparing motions in limine, selecting a jury, creating and presenting an opening statement, conducting the direct and cross-examination of lay and expert witnesses, laying the evidentiary foundation for testimonial and demonstrative exhibits, and preparing for and delivering the closing argument.
Federal Trial Handbook: Civil - Judge Robert S. Hunter
- This link opens in a new window
The Civil volume of the Federal Trial Handbook provides a thorough and authoritative treatment of the issues and problems that confront a practitioner in preparation and conduct of a civil trial in federal court.
Federal Trial Handbook: Criminal - Judge Robert S. Hunter
- This link opens in a new window
The Criminal volume of the Federal Trial Handbook provides a thorough and authoritative treatment of the issues and problems that will confront a practitioner during the preparation and conduct of a criminal trial in federal court.

Also in print: KF8915 .H85
Eleventh Circuit Criminal Handbook - Donald F. Samuel
- This link opens in a new window
Covering hundreds of criminal issues, the Eleventh Circuit Criminal Handbook gives criminal attorneys, prosecutors, defense attorneys, and judges clear, practical analysis tailored to the needs of a busy criminal law practitioner.

Also in print: KF9602.5 .E63

Practice & Procedure

Federal Practice & Procedure (Wright & Miller)
- This link opens in a new window
Wright & Miller's Federal Practice & Procedure provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage on all procedural aspects of the practice of law before federal courts.

Also in print: KF8840 .W68 1982
Federal Procedure - Publisher's Editorial Staff
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Procedure, Lawyer's Edition provides guidance for every aspect of procedure before federal courts and administrative agencies.
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules & Commentary - Steven S. Gensler
- This link opens in a new window
This guide provides in-depth analysis and expert commentary for all the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. A separate practice commentary for each rule thoroughly and concisely explains what the rule provides, how the rule has been interpreted and applied by the courts, and how the rule intersects with other rules and other procedural matters.
Rutter Group Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial-National Edition - Honorable William W. Schwarzer, Judge A. Wallace Tashima, James M. Wagstaffe
- This link opens in a new window
The Rutter Group-Practice Guide: Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial, National Edition is a treatise that presents a clear explanation of all federal rules, doctrines, and policies, including all major local rules.
Manual of Federal Practice: Forms - Richard A. Givens
- This link opens in a new window
Manual of Federal Practice: Forms provides all of the basic forms needed in the vast majority of cases litigated in federal courts. This resource is organized chronologically, in the order of tasks normally performed by attorneys handling litigation.
Federal Procedure Forms - Lawyers Cooperative Publishing
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Procedural Forms is a comprehensive set of forms, "how to" text, and practice aids for use in the federal courts and administrative agencies.
Moore's Federal Practice - Civil - Daniel R. Coquillette, et al.
- This link opens in a new window
Moore's Federal Practice is the backbone of any federal litigator's library. Comprehensive and authoritative, Moore's is written by the judges, lawyers, and professors who write and amend the federal rules.

Also in print: KF8837 .M64 1997
Moore's Federal Practice - Criminal - Daniel R. Coquillette, et al.
- This link opens in a new window
Moore's Federal Practice - Criminal offers unmatched coverage of every detail of procedure in federal criminal cases, fully annotated and practice-oriented.

Also in print: KF8837 .M64 1997
Orfield's Criminal Procedure Under the Federal Rules - Lester Bernhardt Orfield
- This link opens in a new window
The ORFIELD'S CRIMINAL PROCEDURE UNDER THE FEDERAL RULES database provides extensive examination of a wide range of procedural areas. It includes the history of federal criminal procedure since 1789, the scope of the rules, preliminary proceedings, indictment and information, arraignment and preparation for trial, appeal, and special proceedings.

Client Interview

Interviewing the Client (1 Am. Jur. Trials 1) - Lawrence V. Hastings
- This link opens in a new window
Article from American Jurisprudence Trials. Providing information on interviewing clients with or without injuries and a checklist of questions that should be asked during the initial interview.
Lane Goldstein Trial Technique - Fred Lane, Scott Lane
- This link opens in a new window
Part I: Preparation for Trial provides information on handling client interviews along with checklists and sample client interviews.

Discovery

Discovery Practice - Roger S. Haydock and David F. Herr
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of the loose-leaf publication entitled DISCOVERY PRACTICE by Roger S. Haydock and David F. Herr, and published by Aspen Publishers, an Aspen Learning Library business, offering hard-nosed, trial-tested guidance through all the intricacies of what to do, whether to do it, and how to do it -- at every stage of the discovery process.
Discovery Proceedings in Federal Court - West Editorial Staff
- This link opens in a new window
Discovery Proceedings in Federal Court clearly explains each type of discovery permitted under the Federal Rules and provides full practical guidance to using each of these tools, including their sometimes complex applications and interplays.

Also in print: KF8900 .D57 1995
Handbook of Federal Civil Discovery & Disclosure Scope Information - Jay E. Grenig and Jeffrey S. Kinsler
- This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Federal Civil Discovery and Disclosure includes a step-by-step, situation-by-situation guide, with forms and the annual update to E-Discovery and Records Management.

Also in print: KF8900 .G75 2010
Moore's AnswerGuide Federal Discovery Practice - James William Moore; Allan D. Vestal; Philip B. Kurland
- This link opens in a new window
Moore's AnswerGuide Federal Discovery Practice answers your basic questions about discovery in federal civil cases, including topics such as privilege, discovery of electronically stored information, and discovery from nonparties.

Depositions

Deposition Handbook - Dennis R. Suplee and Diana S. Donaldson
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full text of the treatise entitled THE DEPOSITION HANDBOOK, Fourth Edition, by Dennis R. Suplee and Diana S. Donaldson, a concise handbook with expert advice on the strategies, tactics, and mechanics needed to handle a successful deposition in any type of case.

Also in print: KF8900 .S87 2011
Depositions: Procedure, Strategy, & Technique - Paul Lisnek and Michael Kaufman
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for use in CLE settings, the goal of this book is to enable you to understand the rules governing the deposition process, and to use those rules in a manner which produces successful and efficient depositions.

Also in print: KF8900 .L57 1990
How To Take & Defend Depositions - L.J. Chris Martiniak
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of the practical handbook entitled HOW TO TAKE AND DEFEND DEPOSITIONS, Third Edition, by L.J. Chris Martiniak, and published by Aspen Publishers, Inc., an Aspen Learning Library business, a practical handbook that explains when, why and how to use particular strategies, tactics, organizational approaches, methods, and techniques in taking and defending depositions.
Pattern Deposition Checklists - Douglas Danner and Larry L. Varn
- This link opens in a new window
Pattern Deposition Checklists 4th is a comprehensive guide to preparing and taking depositions.

Also in print: KF8900 .D312 1998

Motions

Motion Practice - David F. Herr, Roger S. Haydock, and Jeffrey W. Stempel
- This link opens in a new window
The full text of the treatise entitled MOTION PRACTICE, Fourth Edition, by David F. Herr, Roger S. Haydock, and Jeffrey W. Stempel, that analyzes every applicable rule of civil procedure, and also gives practice-proven techniques for evaluating what motions will work most effectively.

Also in print: KF8875 .H47 1998
Motions in Federal Court - Lawyers Cooperative Publishing
- This link opens in a new window
Motions in Federal Court covers the most frequently used pretrial, trial, and post trial motions authorized by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and federal statutes, and analyzes procedural issues connected with such motions.

Also in print: KF8875 .M68 1996
Federal Motions in Limine - Stephanie Hoit Lee and David N. Finley
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Motions in Limine covers motions in limine in the federal courts and is the first federal resource devoted entirely to excluding or admitting evidence using motions in limine.

Jury Selection

Blue's Guide to Jury Selection - Lisa Blue and Robert Hirschhorn
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to quickly familiarize you with the relevant issues and provide detailed, practical instructions and aids. Discusses the "Six Goals of Voir Dire," to ensure the seating of a jury that will give your client a fair trial. Discusses psychological techniques to predict juror favorability.
Jury Selection Strategy & Science - Ted A. Donner & Richard K. Gabriel
- This link opens in a new window
Organized to provide a readily available resource for attorneys during voir dire. Includes a host of legal authorities to support the propriety of questions to ask in such areas as occupation, education, organizational affiliation, life experience, and attitudes about the court system. Also features roundtables with leading jury consultants and trial attorneys.
Jury Selection: The Law, Art, & Science of Selecting a Jury - Professor Gobert
- This link opens in a new window
Examines an integrated approach to jury selection, providing the latest social science methodology and voir dire techniques in order to help you identify problems, spot personality traits, and isolate social and political biases that may affect jury decisions.

Also in print: KF8979 .J67 1990
Levine on Trial Advocacy: Jury Selection - Harvey R Levine
- This link opens in a new window
Levine On Trial Advocacy: Jury Selection is a one-volume treatise that provides expert guidance, tools and proven techniques for effective jury selection. It contains an appendix of sample voir dire questions as well as practice-tested checklists and forms.
Jurywork Systematic Techniques - National Jury Project
- This link opens in a new window
This guide synthesizes law, sociology, and psychology to help improve jury selection and communication with jurors. Includes insight into trial preparation, case analysis, juror attitudes, and voir dire questions and procedures.

Also in print: KF9680 .J875 1983

Opening Statements

Opening Statements - Dominic J. Gianna & Lisa A. Marcy
- This link opens in a new window
This work prepares you to create and deliver opening statements that persuade today's multigenerational jury to look at the case from your point of view, adopt your story, and take advantage of the phenomenon of predecisional bias.

Direct & Cross Examination

Questioning Techniques & Tactics - Jeffrey L. Kestler
- This link opens in a new window
Questioning Techniques and Tactics examines court-proven techniques of questioning and their direct application to witnesses in court or at deposition.
Examination of Witnesses - Kenneth Mogill
- This link opens in a new window
Master the art of witness interrogation with this definitive guide to strategies, tactics, and techniques of direct and cross-examination techniques. EXAMINATION OF WITNESSES provides an in-depth view of the legal issues involved in direct- and cross-examination, and shows how to prepare witnesses so that their testimony is powerful and persuasive.

Evidence

McCormick on Evidence - Kenneth S. Broun, et al.
- This link opens in a new window
McCormick on Evidence 5th is a treatise analyzing the rules and theory of the law of evidence in both federal and state jurisdictions.

Also in print: KF8935 .M29 2006
Federal Evidence - Christopher B. Mueller and Laird C. Kirkpatrick
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Evidence, 3d, provides analytical text treatment of the Federal Rules of Evidence, organized on a rule-by-rule approach.
Weissenberger's Federal Evidence - Glen Weissenberger; James J. Duane
- This link opens in a new window
Weissenberger's Federal Evidence is a comprehensive treatise on the Federal Rules of Evidence that serves as a succinct yet scholarly analysis of the Evidence Rules for judges, practitioners, and students.

Also in print: KF8935 .W42 2006
Federal Rules of Evidence Manual - Stephen A. Saltzburg; Michael M. Martin; Daniel J. Capra
- This link opens in a new window
Cited widely by courts and consulted regularly by thousands of attorneys across the nation, the Federal Rules of Evidence Manual is the most concise and authoritative reference interpreting the Federal Rules.

Also in print: KF8935 .S25
Wharton's Criminal Evidence - Barbara E. Bergman, Nancy Hollander, Theresa M. Duncan
- This link opens in a new window
Wharton's Criminal Evidence is a comprehensive treatise covering the Federal Rules of Evidence as they apply to criminal proceedings and related federal and state statutes, rules, and case law.

Also in print: KF9660 .W53

Trial Objections

Trial Objections - Roger C. Park
- This link opens in a new window
Trial Objections Handbook 2d provides detailed explanations of the trial objections commonly used by civil and criminal attorneys.

Also in print: KF8915 .M65 2000
Federal Trial Objections - Charles B. Gibbons
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Trial Objections lists in alphabetical order substantive objections that can be made to admissibility (and methods to meet those objections).
The Federal Rules of Evidence with Objections - Anthony J. Bocchino
The Federal Rules of Evidence with Objections is not designed to provide an in-depth analysis of evidentiary rulings or the application of the theories concerning the admission or exclusion of evidence. Instead, it was developed to furnish users with a complete reference of trial objections and responses.

In print: KF8935.Z9 B578 2006

Closing Arguments

Closing Arguments - Jacob A. Stein
- This link opens in a new window
A personal, first-person offering from one of the nation's leading advocates for more than 50 years. This work includes a detailed discussion of the strategies and techniques of a convincing closing statement, examining such issues as timing, references, handling objections, instructions, and rebuttals. Covers the use of visual aids and corroborating evidence, and dealing with difficult judges.

Jury Instructions

Model Federal Civil and Criminal Jury Insturctions
The website Federal Evidence Review provides links to to current and prior model federal civil and criminal jury instructions. Instructions are organized by federal circuit. The website also has subject area jury instructions for particular subject areas, including Trademark, Securities Law, Selected Criminal, Eyewitness Identification, Model Labor and Employment Law, Model Patent, and Juror Use Of Electronic Social Media.
Federal Jury Practice & Instructions - Jay Grenig, William Lee and Kevin O'Malley
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Jury Practice & Instructions and the individual circuit instructions provide a comprehensive set of jury instructions and related commentary for federal court.

Also in print: KF8984 .D4 2006
Modern Federal Jury Instructions-Criminal - Hon. Leonard Sand, et al.
- This link opens in a new window
Offering instructions for all aspects of a federal criminal jury trial, this resource, which is part of Modern Federal Jury Instructions, saves you hours of drafting time and helps you avoid giving jurors erroneous or inappropriate instructions.

To access Source: Click on “Browse Sources” > Type “Leonard Sand” in the “Search Sources” box and click “OK” > Option of Clicking on “Modern Federal Jury Instructions – Criminal” and “Add this source to the search” OR Clicking on “View table of contents”

Also in print: KF9682.A65 M64 1984