LibGuides: Litigation: Introduction

Purpose and Scope

The purpose of this guide is to provide students taking litigation or trial practice with an outline of the different resources available to them through the Law Library in print and electronic access.

The resources in this guide are separated into 3 main groups:

Trial General Resources (located on the Home Tab)
Georgia Materials
Federal Materials

Lexis Advance Litigation/Drafting Tools

The Lexis Advance Litigation Search feature allows users to search for information to help with:

Forms
Briefs, Pleadings, and Motions
Jury Instructions
Jury Verdicts and Settlements
Expert Witness Analysis
Dockets

Searching the Litigation/Drafting Tools

Law students can search the Litigation/Drafting tools by going to Content Types tab and selecting the desired tools .

Westlaw Litigation Tools

Through the Westlaw platform, users have access to litigation resources that help with:

Trial Court Orders
Trial Court Documents
Briefs
Dockets
Jury Verdicts & Settlements
Expert Materials
Trial & Oral Argument Transcripts
Public Records

Locating Litigation Resources

Law students can find these materials under the All Content tab on the Browse page.

Trial General Resources

The following resources provide a good overview of all aspects of trial work a student will have to deal with in litigation. The resources below can be a great starting point for preparing your case or gaining a little more knowledge on the litigation process.

Lane's Goldstein Trial Technique - Fred Lane, Scott Lane
- This link opens in a new window
Lane Goldstein Trial Technique 3d provides expert commentary on practice-proven litigation methods and techniques at all stages of the trial process.
Lane's Goldstein Litigation Forms - Fred Lane
- This link opens in a new window
Provides over 1,000 practice-proven litigation forms with checklists, designed to cover every phase of the litigation process. Offers extensive litigation guidance, with over 1,000 practice-proven, chronologically organized forms, allowing you to tailor-make forms for virtually any case.
Trial Communication Skills - Roberto Aron, Julius Fast, Richard B. Klein
- This link opens in a new window
Trial Communication Skills provides a comprehensive discussion and analysis of verbal and nonverbal communication techniques and their impact on the outcome of a case. It contains valuable insight and expert opinion from experienced judges, trial attorneys and psychologists about the keys to effective communication skills for every stage of a trial, from pretrial to closing.
Criminal Practice Manual - Thomson West
- This link opens in a new window
Criminal Practice Manual identifies, for the criminal defense attorney, significant developments and the latest trends in the law, innovative techniques, and successful strategies for winning cases.

Also in print: KF9615 .C75
Criminal Trial Techniques - F. Lee Bailey
- This link opens in a new window
This three-volume manual provides step-by-step guidance through the critical phases of a criminal proceeding; from initial client contact and pretrial investigations through post-trial contact with jurors.

Also in print: KF9656 .B28
Complete Manual of Criminal Forms - F. Lee Bailey, Kenneth J. Fishman
- This link opens in a new window
Complete Manual of Criminal Forms provides forms and precedents for use in federal and state criminal practice from pretrial proceedings through final appeal.

CALI Lessons

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction produces interactive lessons authored by legal scholars and professionals that cover substantive law, as well as legal research and writing. The lessons include a mix of background information and questions.

CALI Lessons on Trial Advocacy
- This link opens in a new window

Study Aids

Pretrial Litigation in a Nutshell by R. Lawrence Dessem
Call Number: KF8900 .D49 2011
ISBN: 0314273964
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
This nutshell focuses on the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, including recent amendments to the Rules concerning electronic discovery, expert witnesses, and summary judgment. State counterparts to these rules have been adopted in a majority of jurisdictions, and the pretrial skills considered are essential in both state and federal practice. Coverage includes client interviewing, the attorney-client relationship, pretrial planning and investigation, pleadings, discovery, pretrial motion practice, and settlement.
Advocacy by Roger S. Haydock; John O. Sonsteng
Call Number: KF8915 .H375 1994
ISBN: 0314042938
Publication Date: 1994-01-01