LibGuides: Using the Law Library: Study Aids

What Are Study Aids?

Study Aids are materials, written by leading scholars, that help explain the law and reinforce your learning. The Law Library provides access to both print and electronic study aids. You will learn more about study aids, including the location of the ones in print, during orientation. The electronic study aids provided by the Law Library include CALI, West Academic, and Wolters Kluwer publications.

Many of the study aids available via electronic options like West Academic and Wolters Kluwer are also available in print. Check the Law Library catalog to see if we have print versions available. (More about the catalog on this page of the LibGuide.)

For help finding a study aid on a particular topic, check out our Study Aid Finder.

The following information about study aids is provided below:

Where Can I Access Study Aids?

West Academic, Aspen Learning Library, LexisNexis Digital Library Online Study Aids are most easily accessed from the Law Library webpage. Across the top navigation, first hover over the Services menu and then select Online Study Aids from the left menu, as shown below.

You will need to use your GSU account to access both online study aids subscriptions. See the picture below of what the screen should look like.

CALI lessons can be accessed through the Law Library's databases, as well as at cali.org. More access information is available on the Introduction to CALI box (Lexis, Westlaw, & CALI Activation page) of this LibGuide.

West Academic Online Study Aids

What series are available in the West Academic Study Aids platform?

Finding the right study aid can be time-consuming. West Academic has provided a series guide to help you determine which series you should use at different points throughout the semester!

Each of the following series can be found by going to the West Academic Study Aids (via the Legal Database page) then filtering by series.

What Features are Available?

Check out this short video that walks you through how to begin using West Academic Online Study Aid Library content and learning tools!

Aspen Learning Library Study Aids

What series are available in the Aspen Learning Library?

Each of the following series can be found by going to the Aspen Learning Library (via the Law Library Databases A-Z list) then filtering by series.

Casenote Legal Briefs
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is a reference source for the entire semester. Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case.
Emanuel CrunchTime
Emanuel CrunchTime is a tool for exam studying that includes flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers.
Examples & Explanations
The Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style.
Friedman's Practice Series
Friedman's Practice Series is keyed to exam preparation with essay exams, model answers, multiple-choice questions, and academic analysis. It also offers students insights into writing essay exams in core courses.
Glannon Guides
Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained.
In Other Words Video & Audio Series
The video and audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner.
Inside Series
The Inside Series helps you make the most of your study time, throughout the semester and as you prepare for the final. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics. FAQs clarify points of law. Bolded key terms, Connections, and summaries reinforce your understanding. The overall graphical design of the series supports your visual learning.
JumpStart Series
JumpStart is a study aid series covering the first-year course areas. Each title is a short book, roughly 170 pages. The series supplies context and prepares students to apply the rules in a litigation context. The books are most useful early in the first semester as well as in orientation courses or as summer reading for students entering their first year of law school.

What Features are Available?

Check out this short video that walks you through using the Aspen Learning Library (formerly called the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library) content and learning tools!

LexisNexis Digital Library

What series are available in the LexisNexis Digital Library?

Each of the following series can be found by going to the LexisNexis Digital Library (via the Law Library Databases A-Z list).

Mastering Series
Need a better grasp of your classes? Check out the Mastering Series, a user-friendly series of books designed to help you be sure you have mastered the subject, complete with lots of opportunities for self-assessment.
Questions & Answers Series
The Q&A series offer multiple-choice and short-answer questions designed to test your knowledge. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Every book also includes a comprehensive topical index.
Skills & Values Series
The Skills & Values Series is an innovative hybrid series of subject-specific, practice-oriented books. The series is designed as a tool to learn practical and analytical skills that can help you serve future clients competently, skillfully, and in an ethical manner.
A Student's Guide Series
These unique self-teaching guides facilitate the understanding of complex materials from a variety of courses.
Understanding Series
Companion study aid for class and exam preparation. Select titles available in audio format.

What Features are Available?

Check out this short video that walks you through using the LexisNexis Digital Library content and learning tools!